My Day – May 14, 2009

Today felt very long. I haven’t blogged in a couple weeks so here we go. I had a late night last night – I decided not to go out, so instead I had planned to be in bed by 1AM, but I was up very late researching some things and reading Robert Kiyosaki’s latest book “Increase Your Financial IQ”. I think I got to bed around 4AM. I just got into the book and I really enjoyed reading. Usually if I am up until 4 AM it’s not because I am reading…. I’m over half way through the book now. I should have it finished soon.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my career and my future. Today I spent about 3 hours at a local coffee shop called Williams. I enjoy going there with my laptop now and again. They have great coffee – I usually feel like I’m flying after a large cup of it. I typically order the Mexi-kicken Chicken wrap and a French Onion Soup as well – a few times I’ve indulged in their Key Lime Cheesecake. While I was there, I first walked around the coffee shop to see if there were any cute girls I could conveniently sit near. None! (I don’t think it’s as creepy as it sounds, is it?) So I just found a spot to sit and started working. I find if I go to a place like a coffee shop or library to work I am much more focused on what I am doing, and there is always a chance to meet new people.

I don’t know if anyone out there has ever used Microsoft One Note. I’m not going to get into the details of the program but it is great for brainstorming ideas, planning vacations, or whatever. I’d describe it as a combination between Microsoft Word and a scratch pad. It allows you to have multiple tabs (sections) that you can name, and each section can have pages and sub pages. Today, I used it to brainstorm business and career ideas. I have 2 full pages of brainstormed ideas now. Also while at the coffee shop I took a look at my mutual fund performance over the last few months – a little better and a little bit of growth these last few months.

I then headed over to Chapters to look at some books. I was mainly interested in books regarding corporate tax and IT consulting. I read part of a chapter in one book that I found and learned a little bit. I didn’t feel the book would be useful enough for me to purchase however.

Now I am finishing my supper and also the writing of this blog posting. My supper was simple. I found this imitation crab meat (delicious – the same stuff you get with the Seafood and Crab sub at Subway) at Giant Tiger for $1.00 for a decent size portion. I bought 4 or 5 packages and used one today to make an imitation crab meat stir fry. It’s real meat (Pollock maybe?).

So that wraps up this posting. It’s about 9:10 PM now so I should shower and get ready. I’m joining some friends for a night out at the bar tonight. It should be a good time. I am really looking forward to having a couple of beers!

Dan!

About dandouglas
Dan Douglas is based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and is a professional independent Software Consultant and an experienced and proven subject matter expert, decision maker, and leader in the area of Software Development and Architecture. His professional experience represents over 15 years of architecting and developing highly successful large scale solutions. Dan also believes that properly empowering teams with trust and responsibility yields the greatest results. | For inquiries about Dan's software consulting practice, please see the contact page.  Dan has also built up a network of highly successful and professional Software Developers and Architects who are highly respected and can be called upon and used in conjunction with his own consulting practice to handle the largest of consulting projects.

Leave a comment